Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join Now
Our History 2020's
Share |

 1991 - 1999


2000 - 2009

2010 -2019

2020 - Current

May 2020


Orlando, FL
Twenty-Ninth Annual Conference - CANCELLED
May 11 – May 14, 2019
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

The 29th Annual Scientific Meeting of the American Pediatric Surgical Nurses Association, Inc. (APSNA) was to host an exceptional panel of experts sharing the latest information for the clinical management of pediatric surgical conditions. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board of Directors made the difficult decision to cancel the conference to ensure the safety of conference presenters and attendees.
The prestigious Founder’s Award was presented during our first ever virtual Business Meeting. Maryellen Sheridan, MSN, RN, CNS was the recipient of the Founder’s Award, presented to her with a moving speech by the Awards Chair, Barbara Bratton, MSN, PNP-BC, which highlighted Maryellen’s dedication to bringing pediatric surgical nursing excellence to the pediatric surgery community. The Champion Award, given to Diana Farmer, MD, was delivered by both Robyn Huey Lao, DNP, MSN, CPNP-AC and Karen Semkiw, RNC, MPA, NEA-BC, CPHQ who nominated Dr. Farmer for her strong voice that shapes the pediatric surgical community globally and advocates for nursing, and the comprehensive care of the pediatric surgical patient.

The Innovation Award was awarded to Natalie Walker, MSN, CRNP from Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. The Spotlight Award was awarded to Brigitte Staum, MSN, BC-FNP from Maimonides Medical Center for her work dedicated to the pediatric surgical patients and families that she cares for along with her professionalism and grace as she was deployed to another service during the COVID-19 pandemic. The Research grant recipient was Mayra Garcia, DNP, APRN, PCNS-BC from Children’s Health of Dallas Texas. She was presented her award by Kim McHard, MSN, APRN, CPNP-PC and the title of her project is To Determine the Effectiveness of the Use of Probiotics in Patients with a Diagnosis of Complicated Appendicitis on Antibiotic associated Diarrhea (AAD)

Aligning with the past year, APSNA's focus for the 2019-2020 year continued to be the transition of administrative tasks away from board members so that the Board of Directors can focus on governance, as well as working on Strategic Plan initiatives.

Highlights for the year included:
  • Definition of Pediatric Surgery Nursing
  • Creation and launch of the COVID-19 Resource Page
  • Our first ever Facebook Live for COVID-19 Panel Discussions
  • Relaunch of the President’s Blog
  • Newly appointed EB member for the Journal of Pediatric Surgical Nursing
  • First ever Virtual Business Meeting
  • Updates to APSNA policies
  • Additions to the APSNA Web-based Education Series
  • Additions to the Patient and Family Information Sheets (PFIS)
  • Continued with SIG Clinical Pearls development for the NYCU newsletter

Strategic Plan Goals

  • Theme 1: Apply the current Pediatric Surgery NP Competencies to practice and make recommendations for its integration into education, preceptorship and membership orientation to the organization and specialty. Submission of this to the ANA for endorsement and the possibility of working on developing CNS and RN competencies.
  • Theme 2: Continued development of web-based education—total of 11 webinars have been added and are available for purchase
  • Theme 3: Conference 2020 would have had first ever Special Interest Group RoundTable Symposium to further increase the comprehensive nursing education delivery to our attendees
  • Theme 4: Implemented the revised clinical mentorship program that now includes leadership opportunities; development of additional Patient and Family Information Sheets, with more to be produced in the coming year

Our upcoming conference will be held in Phoenix, Arizona at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Resort and Spa May 17-20, 2021.

The 2020-2021 Board of Directors:

  • President – Kimberly Cogley
  • President-Elect – Monique Jenkins
  • Treasurer – Karen Semkiw
  • Secretary – Alissa Bergstresser
  • Director of Development – Hillary Lorenco
  • Director of Practice and Quality – Kimberly Reblock
  • Director of Education – Julie McKee
  • Director of Program – Mary Ellen Connolly